Skip to content

Shoe Mold, Trim, Stairs, and the Like.

December 18, 2013

So it is only Tuesday but this week has already been a fun-filled week. Last night Bill came home and said “I have the remodeling bug again” and started ripping out the carpet from the stairs and cutting out the bull nose off of the treads. (A post about this coming soon) Now, for any women that is addicted to DIY, you know how much those kinds statements mean!

So once again the house is chaotic. We currently have exposed stairs with staples that need to be removed, there is dust EVERYWHERE, and while this is a sign of progress I have to admit that the chaos and dust does become overwhelming. This happens on every big undertaking we take, so we just remind ourselves about those occasions and the joy and satisfaction that those chaotic, dusty, overwhelming projects bring to us once they are finished. So don’t get me wrong, I am super excited, it is as if I am 90% excited and 10% overwhelmed with dust. That is totally normal, right?

But before we move on to the stairs part of the floor project let me tell you what we did this weekend. Ready?

So on Sunday, Bill installed all of the shoe mold. Which means big pieces like this one

IMG_0753

and little pieces like these

IMG_0757

Please don’t pay attention to our dingy baseboard. They need to be repainted but we are not quite ready to open THAT can of worms just yet.  I mean it is cracked a little, it has to be, because we have to paint the trim on the stairs before the treads are installed but we are just not ready to think about painting the trim in the living spaces beyond that.

For now, we have painted the shoe mold in our bedroom and in the office since those baseboard did not need to be repainted. We have also installed crown molding in the guest bedroom and in the guest bathroom. So our plan is to paint both the walls and all the trim in the guest bedroom next. I have even picked a color, woo hoo! Picture me doing a happy dance because Paint + Me = L.O.V.E.

Oh also, yesterday I removed the strip of wall paper in the guest bedroom and I plan on writing about my experience soon. I know so much to write, so much to do and so little time. I better get busy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

