Skip to content

Powder Room

June 25, 2013

One of the first things we did when we bought the house was paint the whole first floor, which included the stairs and of course our powder room. And when we hired someone to paint the inside of the house, we decided to remove the ugly builder-grade light fixture and frame-less mirror in the powder room so that all the holes and glue residue from the mirror could be fixed,  prepped  and painted for an upgraded mirror and light fixture. An upgraded mirror and light fixture that we did not have yet but would have soon. So in the mean time, we just plugged in a desk lamp and left the wall empty.

I think we lived with that situation for at least a couple of months until the day that my brother announced that he and his wife were pregnant and I, under the influence of excitement, volunteered to host my sister-in-law’s baby shower not really thinking of the “situation” we had going on.  So as you can imagine, I went from jumping up and down to this…

https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSIIzAqk9LEXVTFxA7U7YO2vLwP3-hCcEfeiKW5dff5m9MTI2eZ

…when I realized what I had gotten myself into.

For the next few months I desperately searched and searched for the perfect light until I finally gave up and purchased a light. A light that I didn’t really like. A light that has stayed in my powder room since. A light that will remain there until I figure something out. Which may be never!

I digress… As stated, we bought a light but I decided to leave the wall empty, mirror-less if you will. I just could not bring myself to purchase something else that I didn’t love. After all, you don’t really need a mirror but you do need light. Of course, this was not temporary, this went on for FIVE YEARS! It was the joke of every get-together because to add insult to injury, we left some blue tape that at one point we placed on the wall to “see” if the size of the mirror we liked would “fit.”

So fast forward to about two weeks ago.  While shopping at Target I found a mirror that I thought could temporarily fill in the 5 year-old-blue-taped gap, until I figure out our lighting situation.

So without further ado here is a picture of the powder room as it currently stands…

IMG_0360

Ideas? Suggestions?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa E permalink
    December 6, 2013 9:34 AM

    Hello! Came over from Bower Power. I actually like the light fixture and the mirror, however, the scale is off. You definitely need a larger size. 😦 Home Goods perhaps?

    • December 8, 2013 11:22 PM

      Yeah the scale is totally off and its a bad combination. We have been brainstorming and we will be working on it soon. Stay tuned 😀

Leave a Reply

