Skip to content

Garage – Aesthetics

April 28, 2010

Wow, let me just start by saying that I never thought this project would take as much effort, time and money as it did.

Let me show you what we started with



What we wanted to accomplish…

  • AESTHETICS
  • ORGANIZATION & ACCESSIBILITY
  • CLEANABLE FLOORS

AESTHETICS

Painting the walls
This was not an easy task. The walls were not anywhere near paint-ready condition. Bill had to mud and sand the walls, which was such a tedious and messy task but it needed to be done in order to paint the walls.

As you guys may have read in this post, we were having a hard time finding a color.  Bill was leaning towards gray, which at first, I thought it was a good idea for the garage but after a few paint samples I changed my mind.  I was afraid the gray would make the room too dark. We finally decided to stay in the gray area with a hint of blue. However, we realized very quickly that it was not going to be an easy task.  It is hard to find the right tone of blue (at least for us) but after many color samples the right tone of blue was found.  The color is from Benjamin Moore and it is called Santorini Blue, number 1634.

I painted the trim color the same color as the outside trim.  This was also a Benjamin Moore color called Icicle.

We painted all of the organization units, shelves, cabinets, and even the beer fridge black.

And this is how our blue/gray, off white and black combination looks together.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:19 PM

    You should post a big picture of the entire finished garage. Good job though! I’ve never painted anything before. I can only imagine how much patience it takes.

    • April 28, 2010 10:02 PM

      Hi Nicole,

      Thank you for checking my blog out! I promise I will post some pics of the finish product!

      Celia

  2. Shelly permalink
    April 29, 2010 8:51 AM

    Nice work!

Leave a Reply

