Skip to content

Garden

April 20, 2010

The idea of planting a garden came after watching the Oscars.  Okay, not after watching the Oscars but after watching a documentary that was nominated for an Oscar, called Food, Inc.  If you haven’t seen it, you should! Nonetheless, planting a garden has been a lots of fun and lots of work. Let’s start from the beginning, shall we?

1.  Identifying the sunniest part of the yard.  Gardens need full sun, at least 6 hours of direct sunlight.

2. Building our garden.  We decided that our above-ground garden was going to measure 8′ x 8′.

 

4. Lay the weed barrier

 

5. Go buy the dirt.  For an 8×8 garden we needed about 1 ton of dirt. Yes you heard read right, a ton of dirt.  So let the fun begin, let me explain…

We found a place near our house where you could buy dirt by the scoop.  This was perfect because it would’ve been very expensive if we had to buy it by the bag given the amount of dirt we needed.  However there is little issue with that…how to transport the dirt over to our house.  See, Bill drives a Ford Ranger and there is no way our little truck could hold 1 ton of dirt.  And having the supplier deliver it was out of the question because it would have cost us an extra $65.  No worries because our problem was quickly solved by Bill’s dad when he suggested making multiple trips, (should have seen our faces) great idea, huh?  Yeah sort of…  We didn’t start working on the garden until noon on Saturday, which meant that we would have about three hours to carry the dirt over to our house ( I feel so redneck -no offense- everytime I type “dirt” hehehe).  The multiple trip idea also meant that we needed to make about 4 trips in 3 hours.  Which we didn’t think would be a problem given that the dirt supplier was 12 minutes away.  But,  it turns out that each trip took us about an hour and the dirt supplier closed at 4 on the dot….have you done the math yet?  Yeah we were about an hour short and so this is where it gets exciting….

By the time we were loading the third load of dirt (hehehe) it was 3:00 pm and if we kept going at this rate we were not going to be able to get our final load of dirt.  Which meant, we weren’t going to be able to plant anything until probably next weekend (you need to let the dirt settle for at least 24 hours before you can begin your planting).  Which also means, we did all that work for nothing. Okay, not really for nothing but it would’ve sucked not being able to finish it.  So by the time we got home from our third trip it was 3:45 pm but Bill was determined to finish.  So guess what he did?  He unloaded 600 pounds of dirt in 3 minutos …yeah 3 minutes.  Which bring us to 3:48 pm, which meant we could make it back by exactly 4 o’clock but of course nothing ever goes smoothly.  On our way out of our subdivision we got stuck behind a lady that was learning how to drive a five speed, yeah I know! After the longest and most precious two minutes of our life, we were finally able to go around her.  We took some back roads because traffic was ridiculous (remember all of the stuff going on in Atlanta I told you about) and made it there at 4;02 pm which did not matter because the gates were open, 😀 SCORE!, and we were getting our last load of dirt.  Yay, we were right on schedule!

I really wonder what the neighbors thought. I mean we had to drive the truck between the houses to be able to unload all the dirt.

6. Level the dirt.

7. Admire your work while it settles for at least 24 hours.

8. Get your veggies if you haven’t done so by now.

9. Plant them! 🙂 We planted our veggie plants at night because I’ve heard that “roots are never to be seen by the sun” and because by the time I got home and cooked dinner it was dark outside 🙂 Please excuse the pictures.

10. Wait about 2 months to harvest your veggies. 🙂

There is still a few other veggies that we would like to plant. I will post an updated picture of the garden once I plant them.  Also, we need some tips on how to keep all the  lovely little squirrels and rabbits from eating our crops.  We have a ton in our backyard and they look hungry!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 11:03 PM

    Please share!! your garden is so cute! I wish I could grow something but I guess not having a yard is a problem! I would be glad to support my “local” gardens and buy stuff from you guys!

    • April 21, 2010 11:58 AM

      Paulyna,
      I’d love to share! Lots of people have been telling us that we are not gonna know what to do with all this food but honestly I’m just hoping that those lovely squirrels don’t get to the veggies before we do.

  2. April 21, 2010 3:42 PM

    Good luck with the veg

  3. April 22, 2010 4:32 PM

    Wow that was an interesting read. Especially since I am planning on doing my first garden in a couple of weeks. I had also planned on doing an above garden, but now I’m thinking I may just do it the old fashion way. haha

    I’m not sure how to keep the squirrels and rabbits or anything out either, except let my dog chase them. I was going to put a scarecrow in my garden because we have a ton of crows around here.

    Hope your garden turns out lovely!

    • April 23, 2010 2:28 PM

      Jolie,

      Yes it was definitely an interesting experience but it was alot of fun. Please let me know, via your blog or mine, how yours turns out. I think that as long as you have the dirt situation figured out you should be fine with an above-ground garden.

      In the regards to the squirrels and rabbits, I am in the process of doing some research. I will post something soon, so be sure to check back.

      Thanks for checking out my blog.

      Celia

  4. Shelly permalink
    April 22, 2010 8:10 PM

    Can’t wait to come over for dinner…2 months to harvest? Sounds good to me. Love your blog!!!!

    • April 23, 2010 2:30 PM

      Thanks Shelly! I am looking forward to the day when I can harvest and have you guys over.

  5. April 24, 2010 2:40 AM

    Hola Bibilinda que bien que esten haciendo el jardin de vegetales se ven Super trabajando juntos!!!!!!!les mando un abrazo z muchos besos…
    tu Abue Cristy……

Leave a Reply

