Skip to content

Betty’s Secret

April 15, 2010
tags: ,

We are in the process of remodeling our laundry room (can’t wait to show you) and when I was looking for little nic nacs to decorate the laundry room I thought it would be neat to have a few laundry themed books.  I had a budget of $1 per book because Amazon’s shipping is $3.99 and I figured a total of $5 per book was a reasonable amount to spend on a nic nac.  I ended up getting two books, Betty’s Book of Laundry Secrets by Betty Faust and Maria Rodale, to purchase click here, and Laundry: The Home Comforts Book of Caring for Clothes and Linens by Cheryl Mendelson, to purchase click here.

Like I said, I purchased these books for the sole purpose of decorating and not because I wanted Betty’s or Maria’s advice. But then when the first book arrived,  Betty’s Book of Laundry Secrets, I was so excited that I ended up reading the whole thing in one night.  I mean it was a small book, like 100 pages. In any case, I was very intrigued with her secret and coincidentally it was laundry night 🙂 and I just happened to have a stained clothing garment that needed to be washed. 🙂 So, it only made sense to try it!  After finishing the book, I drove to the store, bought it, and brought it home to then carefully follow Betty’s instructions* …ready for Betty’s secret? Drum roll please…

1. Wet stained garment with cold water

2. Rub a bar of Ivory soap on stain

3. Soak for 30 minutes in cold water with a little bit of detergent.

4. Rinse

Can you believe it? Ivory soap?  I was so shocked but let me  tell you, Betty’s secret worked.  Who would’ve thought!  So glad I purchased the book.  It was worth every penny!

Do you have any methods that you swear by when it comes to getting rid of stains? Please share!

* Betty’s Instructions are quoted directly from book.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

